A new place to call home

When I came back to this precious island, I began working  part time and going to school here.
I loved my job and school was always an adventure.
download (58)I worked as a swimming teacher and had many funny experiences trying to explain to the kids in English what they must do when they only understand French! download (57)Even with the language barrier I developed a wonderful relationship with these kids and loved them to bits. Their parents were lovely people and they loved the way I worked with their children.
Some days I would travel to another town, just forty five minutes away (by car) and teach swimming there for a few hours.
The life style in this town was completely different to the town I was living in and it was extremely hot too.
I managed to catch a nice tan and enjoy the beautiful scenery each time I was there.

 Although things were well with work, settling down to living here was tough because things are completely different to the way they are at home. I now had no car and had to accept taking the bus everywhere. I had to learn to budget my money and spend it wisely. I had to become a member of the house I was staying at, instead of just a visitor, by being involved in the activities that took place in the home and start building relationships with the people I lived with.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,615 other followers

