When an old chubby man walked on stage …

praise and worshipPraise and worship began and I stood watching the lyrics on the big screen, trying to sing the song without mixing up the words. My stomach had butterflies and my eyes were wide with curiosity. I clapped my hands and watched everyone else around me, waiting for something to happen.

After a while, I saw nothing happened in me and a huge weight of sadness came over me.
I sat down like a little girl who has just been let down by her parent and shrugged my shoulders thinking, ‘what was I so excited about?’
And then I saw an old chubby man walk on the stage.
Someone had given him a microphone and he began to speak with a strange deep voice.
I stood up to get a closer look at him and saw the translator standing next to him preparing to repeat his every word. As he spoke and she translated, my heart began to race and I listened very carefully to what was said.
My heart began to race even more and I held my hand over my heart feeling it beat twice the normal rate. I then closed my eyes and started to pray in a panic asking God not to let me have a heart attack and that I was too young to have one, I didn’t know what was happening to me.
Something came over me and I felt an adrenaline rush through my body with the rate my heart was beating. I carried on praying, thinking and feeling like I was about to have a heart attack.
My eyes remained shut and as I prayed, I started to walk down the aisle to the front of the church for prayer. This was the  first time I’ve ever been up for prayer on my own without anyone asking me to go…

About Marilyn :)

I'm a writer and christian whose living a very complicated life, I know I'm never alone no matter how alone I feel at times. I'm stubborn so i always learn things the hard way and even though I have a lot of regrets, I'd never take anything back because I wouldn't be who I am today.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,617 other followers

