The first week of their arrival

 When they arrived I hardly spent any time with them and carried on my daily routines as if they were not there.
I came and left when I pleased, went out and about as usual and went to visit my friends as normal.
I wouldn’t spend time with them nor give them polite answers when they asked me where I was going. I started smoking in front of them and expected them to accept it. I told them if I was drunk the night before and didn’t mind drinking in front of them. I simply made it clear that ‘it’s my life now’ and they cannot stop it. (I know, I know I also think I was a spoilt cow).
310871_2449952084191_1886465673_nBut after a while my family couldn’t take it anymore, my mom sat me down and shared with me that they are not here to stop me from living my life but to simply live it with me and to enjoy me. They were all happy for me, that I had settled down so well and that I made friends, they just wanted to be a part of it. I suddenly realised they were not the bad guys after all…It was me.
That day I got my act together. For the rest of the holiday, things changed and I became more open and free with them. I was honest and showed some respect, I opened my life to them and let them be a part of it.
311199_142516922506948_2379185_n318331_142520915839882_7789119_nI enjoyed every moment I had with my family and loved that they were here with me, I took my sisters out with me a few times and even partied with my mom once or twice.

I loved the time I had with my dad and we’d often trade ideas about new pub designs or promotions (he owned two pubs at the time) and I finally started to act like a daughter, even asking them if I could go away for the weekend or telling them where I was going out and who with.
313135_142522792506361_1467149_nSadly time flies when you’re having fun and their time with me was coming to an end.
Towards the end of their holiday I was asked if I would like to come back with them…

About Marilyn :)

I'm a writer and christian whose living a very complicated life, I know I'm never alone no matter how alone I feel at times. I'm stubborn so i always learn things the hard way and even though I have a lot of regrets, I'd never take anything back because I wouldn't be who I am today.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,617 other followers

