My struggles at night

download (26)

When I first got to the ward I politely asked for as little medication as possible as I hate taking pills but I soon discovered I could not function without them. The first few nights were restless as I was very uncomfortable sleeping in the same position and it was hard changing positions all the time. So I had to pick one that I had to stick with.
The pain was unbearable and extremely uncomfortable; I often got muscle spasms that felt like they were never going to go away.  I was also given sleeping tablets, otherwise I would stay awake all night.

images (40)
The doctor wanted to keep me in longer I had bet that I was going to get out a few days earlier than he assumed, as long as I promised to walk three times a day and do my exercise given me by the physiotherapist. And so we did, my mother and I walked around the hospital ward everyday as often as we could. She and I had a wonderful time together during these days because she had no work nor friends with her and neither did I.

images (39)
My mom and I stood out like two sore thumbs in that hospital because all we did was laugh and joke and make as much noise as we could. When it was resting time, we shared the earphones and watched a movie together. When it was lunch time, we’d share our foods. Well, actually we swapped because by then I disliked the hospital food. When we were walking, I’d often make jokes and comments that made my mother burst out laughing and I had to lean against a wall to laugh because my back would hurt.

Even though all this was happening, there was such a peace in my heart during this time. I knew that I was going to be okay.

2 responses to “My struggles at night

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,614 other followers

