A special roommate

Sadly i dont have pictures of my roommate. just her bed :P ..jokes ... wasn't sure what picture to put up :)

Sadly i dont have pictures of my roommate. just her bed 😛 ..jokes … wasn’t sure what picture to put up 🙂

I had a better glance of my roommate when everyone left and I saw she was very small and fragile. She looked so young and skinny but she had an amazing smile that lit up the room.
She introduced herself and told me her name is Gertrude. Neither of us could walk so we spoke from across the room and she asked me about my life and how I ended up where I was. After I had shared my side of the story I soon got discover hers and my heart dropped…
She is in her early thirties (I thought she was in her early teens) and has been in and out of hospitals her whole life as she has a muscle disease.
Her head is bigger than the rest of her body and she is too weak to hold it up on her own. (her head is not abnormally big; she was just really small and weak as to her muscle disease). She cannot walk alone because her legs cannot hold her body and she couldn’t feed herself either.
I remember seeing her precious face staring at the television and switching to different channels. Her eyes would be wide awake and her mouth often left a little open looking very excited at any television show she was watching.

everyday she would always make conversations with me, with the smallest things she would ask questions about them. She always had a smile on her face and was polite to all the nurses.

I often got asked what I was watching on television and she would explain what she was watching.
Each night when the lights were turned off and we were tucked in bed, she would start to talk to me and bring up any random story to start a conversation. If I had practiced walking that day she would tell me how proud she was of me and how she wished she could walk. If she had watched a movie that she didn’t understand or really enjoyed, she would share it with me or tell me her favourite parts of the movie she liked. Some nights we would chat for a long time as we both couldn’t sleep and some nights we’d fall asleep while talking and I soon fell in love with her as a person and just enjoyed having her company.
She was awaiting an operation that had been delayed several times and she spoke about her fears for this operation, not wanting to go through more pain and this brought sadness to my heart.

So, here is a picture of a Sunflower to brighten the mood :) have a great day everyone..

So, here is a picture of a Sunflower ( i like sunflowers) to brighten the mood 🙂 have a great day everyone..

 

One response to “A special roommate

  1. I love her. Tell her that.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,614 other followers

