My Hospital Adventure

Small view of the ICU in the background :)

Small view of the ICU in the background 🙂

I was in the ICU for five days and in the ward for another five days. My family could not make it to South Africa during this time because of school So only my mother was there with me. She was keeping in contact with every person we knew, updating them on my condition.
She was also loving her mini holiday she was getting away from work and housework.

me in hospital
The ICU was a nightmare as I got little to no rest.
I kept hearing all screams and cries of the other patients through out the night. It was heart breaking hearing them in pain and no one can do anything about it.
You’d think the morphine would help me sleep, but I still got woken up.
My mother was only allowed in once a day (I think) for about an hour.  Seeing her smiley face and complaining to her quickly about my sleepless nights and the ugly food, was all I needed to keep me going.

And coke ... Coke made me very happy during these times:) Had to eat and drink in this position.  Dont ask what that thing on my finger is for, i dont know :D

And coke … Coke made me very happy during these times:) Had to eat and drink in this position.
Dont ask what that thing on my finger is for, i dont know 😀

 I struggled a lot when it came to doing the simplest things.Getting up from lying down, walking and staying in a sitting position. Even lifting my head at the time was impossible.
They did get me walking the day after my operation. The joy that leaped in my soul when that happened gave me hope for the future. Though I could only take a few steps before losing my breath and having to lie down again, I still had hope.
Sadly I could not do anything without assistance, I always needed someone to hold me.

6 responses to “My Hospital Adventure

  1. But what happened? What was the diagnosis? How did it happen? How did they fix it? What did they tell you? Did they tell you it would get better? Why did you get morphine? We’re you in a lot of pain?

  2. Thank you for sharing. My prayers are with you.

  3. Marilyn :)

    WOW … never been asked so many questions. In my previous posts explains what happened, i crushed my verteba in my accident. So i need to get an operation to put screws in my spine to support my back. So yes, it was extremely painful. They said i will get better, but never the same. keep reading it gets interesting 🙂
    thanks for reading …

  4. Oh my gooness! What an amazing story! You are such a strong person, thank you for sharing your story with us and I look forward to reading the rest of it.

  5. I read your adventure and know that God held you in His healing embrace. You have a great family and it shows so glowingly in all of your smiling words. You certainly inspire me! Thanks for following my blog my sister, I will share a poem I wrote a while back with you just to keep you smiling! God bless you and your family.

    A Genuine Smile

    A genuine smile joyfully gives to a day
    Much more value than one really knows
    It’s more than the gold light of the sun
    More soothing than the moons soft glow

    It reaches down deep within one’s soul
    Making such inspired feelings to arise
    It makes a heart’s flame leap forward
    From the dormant place where it did lie

    It causes a young heart to begin to pound
    And it brings about a shortness of breath
    It adds new meaning to life in one’s mind
    Along with a glow that will always last

    It’s a treasure chest full of beautiful jewels
    More valuable than a single pearl of great worth
    For a genuine smile is valued so much more
    Than any treasure which can be found in the earth.

    Wendell A. Brown,
    January 2013,

    I pray that you heal completely very soon!

    • Marilyn :)

      Thank you so much. its touching to know people are inspired. This accident happened a few years ago. i am much better today. thank you for your blessings and concern. the poem is amazing 🙂

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,614 other followers

