My First Hallucination

morphine

 Morphine is a dangerous drug and is well known for making people hallucinate. This is what happened to me the first night  I had my operation.
I remember waking up in the middle of the night dying of thirst and crying out to the nurse for some water. Unfortunately, she couldn’t give it to me because apparently, you’re not supposed to eat or drink anything for a certain amount of hours after an operation.
Again, I don’t remember much from that evening, but fighting with her was one thing I remember and looking at my imaginary watch to check the time I could have water was another thing I remember.
Finally; after fighting with her nearly all through the night, I got my water.

My dearest mother and I, keeping me entertained in ICU

My dearest mother and I, keeping me entertained in ICU

At another time during the night, I woke up thinking the building was going to fall down on me and I kept trying to grab all my wires that were on me. I was in such a panic and tried to save myself but being freaked out at the fact that I could not even lift my head.
These poor nurses…

This was one of my nurses. Took us a while to get her to hold still so we could take the photo... Don't think she knew where the camera was tho ;)

This was one of my nurses. Took us a while to get her to hold still so we could take the photo… Don’t think she knew where the camera was tho 😉

About Marilyn :)

I'm a writer and christian whose living a very complicated life, I know I'm never alone no matter how alone I feel at times. I'm stubborn so i always learn things the hard way and even though I have a lot of regrets, I'd never take anything back because I wouldn't be who I am today.

One response to “My First Hallucination

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,617 other followers

