Hearing the news I didn’t want to hear

  He replied, ‘yes’

We then asked, ‘does she need to have an operation’, again he replied, ‘yes’ or I lay still for over 6 months and even then it still isn’t  a guarantee I will be well.
My heart dropped.
They took me up to my room and gave me some morphine for the pain. I loved the feeling it gave me for I could feel it flow in my blood stream through my body and slowly the pain would drift away.
That was all I was looking forward to, was to be painless and I passed out a little while later.
The next morning, I discovered I was going to fly to Johannesburg for my operation because it was not safe for me to do it here and that my medical aid was going to cover everything.
My mother organised all that she could with the little time she had and prepared everything for us to leave. I confessed the truth to her, that I jumped off the dam wall and luckily medical aid was still going to cover my hospital bills. I had my accident Saturday afternoon and they flew me out Monday morning.
I remember the sad look on my dad’s face when he watched me being tied onto a stretcher and carried out with all the nurses following.
My dad couldn’t hug me goodbye as it killed him seeing me like this, it still affects him to this day…

download

Here’s my dad … and me 🙂

One response to “Hearing the news I didn’t want to hear

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,614 other followers

