The useless helps!!

caravan

 I began preparing myself to hold my breath when this boat sinks for I knew I could not swim and feared people would forget to grab me; I tried very hard not to panic. When we arrived on shore, everyone jumped out and a few boys stayed behind to get me out.
They were carrying me by my arms, leaving my feet just above ground level to touch the dirt tip toeing. As we were walking up a small hill to my friends caravan they started talking, ‘don’t tell anyone what happened because we were not supposed to be there, just tell them you fell off a boat, or we’ll all be in trouble’.
I could understand the fear they had for it was not their fault this happened, so I agreed to everything they said, promising not to get them in trouble.

People were in hysterics…

  the boys left me on the bed and got chased out by my friend so that she can change me, they managed to slip on my top and they covered the rest of me with a blanket because they could not put on any other article of clothing properly since I could not move at all. As she was helping me, she asked what happened and I began my lie; ‘I fell off a boat’, but the look she gave me told me she knew I was lying, so I told her the truth. She was furious! Then she opened the door when I was descent and people came rushing in and out, not knowing what to do. I asked where the boys I jumped with where and I heard that they had gone to jump again. One of them I never saw again that day, the others were in and out, only one or two stayed close to check on me.

 We called a nurse in, since they refused to let anyone tell any parent, especially my own.
The nurse asked me if I could feel my toes when she touched them, she asked me to wiggle my toes and I could, she asked me to lift my hands and head but I could not.
She then told me I was fine and was experiencing a muscle spasm on my back, so I tried convincing myself the same. She gave me a pain killer and left.
The pain I was in was unbearable, I remember just wanting to be well, to walk again to stop feeling this pain, I feared not being able to move and was uncomfortable with people walking in and out the way they were. I tried to relax the situation by telling those around me I was fine and that it was going to be okay, cracking a few jokes here and there but deep inside I knew there was something wrong. ..

About Marilyn :)

I'm a writer and christian whose living a very complicated life, I know I'm never alone no matter how alone I feel at times. I'm stubborn so i always learn things the hard way and even though I have a lot of regrets, I'd never take anything back because I wouldn't be who I am today.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,617 other followers

