The Fear That Followed

Akko_(Acre)_Israel_-_Jumping_off_Fortress_wall

 I think what freaked me out the most in this jump was the loss of control I had, I suddenly realised; I was in a situation where I was in danger and I could do nothing to prevent it.

It’s like my entire body prepared itself for death. (Sounds dramatic, I know.)
But things like, my mind drifting off, my body feeling numb and everything playing in slow motion; making the fall last forever and; before hitting the water, waking up and reacting at the last minute.Which then caused a bad landing.
Before I hit the water I looked down and got a fright, so I lifted my legs up and landed almost flat on my bottom. When I hit the water I heard a loud crack and knew something was broken; I just wasn’t sure what…

I was conscious of my surroundings but refused to open my eyes, not knowing if I was alive or dead but; when the pain kicked in seconds later, I opened my eyes and I realised I was under water.

I knew my body was in danger so I dared not to move. I stayed under the water in hope that someone will help me. I felt hands touch my sides under my arms and lift me to the surface…

I took my first breath…

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,614 other followers

