Daring to go

My eyes widened in excitement.
So I interrupted, ‘can I join you next time?’, they all sat there in silence and starred; then suddenly all of them responded at once, ‘no you can’t do it you’re a girl, you’ll get scared and back out and …’’, it went on.

This is not the actual boat, but close enough to what I'm trying to describe   :)

This is not the actual boat, but close enough to what I’m trying to describe 🙂

It frustrated me for I didn’t like people limiting me because I’m girl, so I managed to get them to let me try. And off we went; we went to a small boat that could barely keep afloat and more than a handful of people got in. We all feared it would sink on the way there, that’s how bad the condition of the boat was.

Now with all the commotion going on, the boys joking, laughing and making fools of each other, I didn’t watch where we were going. When we arrived I was stunned…

 …for I thought we were jumping off a cliff but it turned out to be the dam wall itself. The climb up was a bit of a struggle for we had to go up a small hill and around a huge gate that I needed assistance. When we got there, I looked over the balcony and thought, ‘it’s not that high’.

So, this is the Dam Wall ..where they jumped

So, this is the Dam Wall ..where they jumped

But then I saw them climbing up a ladder to the top of the building; so I followed. When we got to the top I saw them look out a small window that had been broken, so I took a peek and looked down and felt fear rush down my spine! This was high!
(There had been a draught recently, so the dam was half empty)

So the little round circle is where they actually jumped off from

So the little round circle is where they actually jumped off from

They challenged me, ‘so you think you can still jump?

About Marilyn :)

I'm a writer and christian whose living a very complicated life, I know I'm never alone no matter how alone I feel at times. I'm stubborn so i always learn things the hard way and even though I have a lot of regrets, I'd never take anything back because I wouldn't be who I am today.

One response to “Daring to go

  1. Jo Van

    It’s so interesting! I can’t stop reading!!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,617 other followers

