Awaiting the ‘legal age’

(Hey all, so to find pictures that are relevant to the text was really difficult, so i decided to just upload a few photos from the year 2010. Hope you enjoy) 

The three sisters, this awesome picture was taken by my grandmother in Cyprus in 2010

The three sisters, this awesome picture was taken by my grandmother in Cyprus in 2010

 I remember a few weeks before turning eighteen my mother and I were discussing my curfew times and I had reminded her of the one time she told me that when I was eighteen I could do as I wanted.
She looked at me and answered; ‘I don’t remember that, you do as you please when you leave this house, not while you’re still under my roof’
(I bet all parents are agreeing right now?).

MY dearest mother and i, being attacked by the wind in Cyprus while trying to smile for the camera :P

MY dearest mother and i, being attacked by the wind in Cyprus while trying to smile for the camera 😛 (i think im doing a better job!)

I freaked out because everything that I had been looking forward to since my partying days started crashed! My father agreed and it finally clicked in my head that I could not have this freedom I had desired until I left home!
and Like every teenager I planned out this whole, ‘leaving home’ scheme and wanted to go to England with my best friend and try create a life for ourselves there. We thought long and hard about it and wanted this plan to succeed.
I was full of rebellion and vowed to do as I pleased when I turned eighteen, regardless of what my parents would say. No matter how loud they shouted, I wanted to do what I want because I could.

The three of us again, at a skating ring in Cyprus. we've lost count to the amount of   times we've fallen :)

The three of us again, at a skating ring in Cyprus. we’ve lost count to the amount of times we’ve fallen 🙂

I remember counting down the days to my eighteenth, waiting patiently for the legal age and then, then I was going to rebel more than before! I didn’t think of the struggle my little sisters would go through when I go through this, or the weight upon my parent’s shoulders trying to calm their daughter down and lead her in the right direction. I hated rules and being told what to do, especially by my parents.

(us teenagers, we seem to have this illusion that we know everything.)

During the year of 2010, i decided to do something crazy and colour my hair bright red with black :)

During the year of 2010, i decided to do something crazy and colour my hair bright red with black 🙂

IMG_0014

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_0019

 

4 responses to “Awaiting the ‘legal age’

  1. Rose Petals :)

    Lol i ddnt knoe u had red hair…im glad thats an old part of yo life….tjo…red n black hair kikikikikiki

  2. Hey Marilyn, nice pics of you there!

  3. “… you do as you please when you leave this house, not while you’re still under my roof’
    (I bet all parents are agreeing right now?).” Yes, we are.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,614 other followers

